The Department of Agricultural Education which was created in September 2015 is an off shoot of the old department of vocational teacher education established in 1962 by the ford foundation which is now a faculty. Agricultural education has three main area of emphasis which include; livestock education, crop production education and Agric-Business and entreprenship. The vision of Agricultural education is to provide the workforce for educational institution and agro allied industries.

As the pioneerDepartment of Agricultural education in Nigeria, almost all the institution that run Agricultural education programmes in Nigeria university, polytechnics and colleges of education levels are administered by the product of this department. The mission of the department is to address and meet the clienteles needs at all times and location.

The department offers both undergraduate and postgraduate programs in agricultural and Bio-resources education.