Prof. Onuoha Kalu Mosto.

Department: Geology
Faculty: Physical Sciences
Designation :
Phone: +234803 779 3601

Working Experience:
 CAREER PROGRESSION WITHIN THE UNIVERSITY OF NIGERIA - Date of Arrival / Resumption of Duties September 1980 - Appointment regularized as Lecturer I Sept. 23, 1981 - Promoted Senior Lecturer Oct. 01, 1982 - Promoted Reader (Associate Professor) Oct. 01, 1985 - Promoted to Full Professor of Geology Oct. 01, 1988 VISITING POSITIONS HELD AND OTHER RELEVANT INFORMATION: i. Visiting Seismologist, Central Institute for Physics of the Earth, Potsdam, Germany (Oct.-Nov., 1983). ii. Visiting Fellow, International Centre for Theoretical Physics, Trieste, Italy (Sept.-Oct., 1986). iii. Exploration Consultant, SKOUP & Co., (Management/Financial Consultants), Enugu (sabbatical leave period, Jan.-May, 1990). iv. Visiting Geophysicist, Mobil Producing Nigeria, (June-Sept. 1990). v. Visiting Scientist, Western Geophysical, Isleworth, London (Oct.-Dec. 1990). vi. Pioneer Mobil / NNPC Professor of Petroleum Geology at the Mobil Chair, University of Calabar, Calabar, Nigeria (Oct. 1991-Sept. 1992). vii. Visiting Scientist, Ecole des Mines Paris, University of Paris, Fontainbleau, France (April-May, 1994). viii. Technology Development Adviser, Subsurface Services, Shell Petroleum Development Company of Nigeria Ltd., Port Harcourt (1996-2002, on leave of absence from the University of Nigeria). ix. Visiting Professor, African University of Science & Technology, Abuja (since 2010). EDITORIAL ACTIVITIES, COMMUNITY SERVICE, AND SERVICE TO THE NATION Editor-in -Chief, Journal of Mining & Geology (Published by the Nigerian Mining and Geosciences Society), 1987-1993. Member, Editorial Board of Natural Hazards, an International Journal of Hazards Research & Prevention (Published by D. Reidel Co., Dordrecht, The Netherlands), 1987- 1993. Corresponding Member, COGEOENVIRONMENT (publication of the International Union of Geological Sciences, Commission on Environment & Planning), 1991- 1998. Member, Editorial Board of Journal of African Earth Sciences (Published by Elsevier Science Limited, London, Amsterdam) 1992-1998. Technical assessor and reviewer for many local and international scientific journals. Member, National Technical Committee on Earthquake Phenomena (NTCEP) and Zonal Coordinator of the Committee for Eastern Nigeria (1985-1997). External Examiner (since 1985) and External Assessor for promotion to the Readership and Professorship to over THIRTY (30) Universities in Nigeria (since 1991). Adjunct Professor of Geophysics, Rivers State University of Science & Technology, Port Harcourt (1991-1996). President, Presidential Executive Chapter of the Full Gospel Business Men's Fellowship International, Port Harcourt (1999-2001). Chairman, Port Harcourt Chapter, Nigerian Association of Petroleum Explorationists (NAPE) (1999-2002). Field Representative, Nsukka Zone of the Full Gospel Business Men’s Fellowship International, Nsukka Zone (since 2003). Member, National Workgroup on Oil & Gas, Nigerian Economic Summit #9, #10, and #11, 2002-2008. External Member, Governing Council of Abia State University, Uturu; (2000-2006). Member of Council, Nigerian Mining & Geosciences Society (1984-1993, 1998- 2002). Academic Secretary, Nigerian Academy of Science (1999-2001). Chairman, Christ Church Chapel Council, UNN, 2004-2007 Treasurer, Nigerian Academy of Science (2010-2012). Member, Board of Assessors (Science), Nigerian National Order of Merit (2003-2008). Member, Board of Assessors (Science), Nigerian Science Prize, a $100,000 yearly award for excellence in science endowed by the Nigeria Liquefied Natural Gas (NLNG) Company Limited (2004-2009). External Faculty Member, Petroleum Engineering Faculty, African University of Science and Technology (Nelson Mandela Institute), Abuja (since 2010). Vice-President, Nigerian Academy of Science (since January 2012) Served as Distinguished Lecturer and Keynote Speaker in several universities and to various organisations, e.g.:  Nigerian Institute of Physics, Annual Conference, Port Harcourt, 1997;  Faculty of Science, University of Port Harcourt (1999);  Federal University of Tech., Owerri (2002);  The Postgraduate School, University of Ibadan (2004);  School of Earth & Mineral Sciences, F. U. T. Akure (2006);  Borno Forum/Nigerian Academy of Science - Sir Kashim Ibrahim Memorial Lecturer (2006).  Council of Nigerian Mining Engineers & Geoscientists (COMEG), Induction Ceremony, National Press Centre, Abuja, 2009.  Centre for Environmental Management and Control, Enugu, World Environment Day Lecturer, June 2009. Member of Advisory Board, National Data Repository (NDR), Department of Petroleum Resources, Lagos (since 2007). Deputy Vice-Chancellor (on adjunct basis), Federal University Ndufu Alike Ikwo, Ebonyi State (since 2012).

Area of Specialization
Membership of professional bodies
Publications (Articles and Journals)